Close

Remote work and hybrid working environments: Success doesn't come by itself!

How do we want to work in the future? More remote or more hybrid? Both offer great opportunities – for employees and companies. Employees don’t stress because of commuting and can better adapt their workday to their own needs. This increases happiness and ensures a better work-life balance. Companies increase the potential talent pool, enhance their own attractiveness as an employer and can reduce costs for office space and travel.

Hybrid working environments need new concepts

One thing is certain: Hybrid working environements (alternating between remote work and on-site presence in the office) is the working model of the future. However, it is also clear that remote work must be more than just typical office work, just done from home. Remote work that feels good needs new ideas and concepts for leadership, virtual collaboration and for informal communication

Remote work: The pitfalls

1 %

In a survey by the Adecco Group, around two-thirds of respondents stress the importance of face-to-face meetings with the team.

1 %

According to a Harvard Business Review study, remote employees communicate 80% less than on-site employees.

1 %

Between 20% and well over 50% of remote workers feel partially or permanently lonely and isolated.

Remote Work: The downsides

Challenges

Isolation

Workers who work remotely or in a home office for longer periods of time are more likely to feel alone and isolated than those who work in a regular office setting. The consequences are declining work performance, decreasing motivation and an increasing feeling of alienation.

Emotional Bond

Employees who feel left behind in the home office are increasingly alienated from their employer. If the emotional bond is missing, it is always easier to change jobs, especially for managers.

Lack of Ideas

Many ideas arise during spontaneous exchanges at the coffee machine during breaks. Remote workers lack these opportunities to talk. As a result, creative ideas are scarce and innovations are slowed down.

Distance Leadership

Leadership is very often based on small agreements during a coffee break or a spontaneous meeting. Leadership in remote work environments require a new leadership culture in order to be practiced successfully.

Remote Work?

Not everything is perfect.

More than 50% of our employees work remotely. For us, the biggest challenge is managing these employees. Because many interpersonal short conversations, with which you can quickly discuss problems, suddenly fall away.

HR Manager

By working from home, I gain more time and save money by eliminating the daily commute. But I miss the conversations with colleagues, where I got to hear a lot about what was going on in the company. The bond with the job and the company decreases.

Employee

Remote Work: Get it right

Three tips for successful remote work

Encourage social exchange

Coffee breaks are important hygiene factors in companies. They help prevent dissatisfaction and are indispensable for the emergence of new creative ideas as well as for leadership and motivation. Therefore: Create virtual coffee kitchens as a space for spontaneous virtual meetings and the social balance.

Support Executives

Leadership in remote work environments work differently. Support managers with modern tools and methods. This includes software solutions such as Breaklounge. But also methods for conducting conversations as well as for recognizing health problems.

Close

Remote Work und hybride Arbeitswelt: Erfolg kommt nicht von alleine!

Wie wollen wir künftig arbeiten? Mehr remote oder mehr hybrid? Beides bietet große Chancen – für Mitarbeiter und Unternehmen. Mitarbeiter ersparen sich den Pendel-Stress und können ihren Arbeitstag besser den eigenen Bedürfnissen anpassen. Das steigert die Zufriedenheit und sorgt für eine bessere Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf. Unternehmen vergrößern den potenziellen Talentpool, steigern die eigene Attraktivität als Arbeitgeber und können Kosten für Büroflächen und Reisen senken.

Hybrides Arbeiten braucht neue Konzepte

Fest steht: Hybrides Arbeiten, also der Wechsel zwischen Remote Work und Vor-Ort-Präsenz im Büro, ist das Arbeitsmodell der Zukunft. Fest steht aber auch, dass Remote Work mehr sein muss als die typische Büroarbeit, nur eben von zuhause aus erledigt. Remote Work, das sich gut anfühlt, braucht neue Ideen und Konzepte für Führung, virtuelle Zusammenarbeit und für die informelle Kommunikation.

Remote Work: Achtung, Fallstricke

1 %

In einer Umfrage der Adecco Group betonen rund zwei Drittel der Befragten die Wichtigkeit von persönlichen Treffen mit dem Team.

1 %

Laut einer Studie der Harvard Business Review kommunizieren remote arbeitende Mitarbeiter um 80 % weniger als Mitarbeiter vor Ort.

1 %

Zwischen 20% und deutlich über 50% der remote arbeitenden Mitarbeiter fühlen sich teilweise oder dauerhaft einsam und isoliert.

Die Schattenseiten von Remote Work

Herausforderungen

ISOLATION

Arbeitnehmer, die länger remote oder im Homeoffice arbeiten, fühlen sich häufiger alleine und isoliert als bei einer normalen Bürotätigkeit. Die Folgen sind nachlassende Arbeitsleistung, sinkende Motivation und ein zunehmendes Gefühl der Entfremdung.

EMOTIONALE BINDUNG

Mitarbeiter, die sich im Homeoffice zurückgelassen fühlen, entfremden sich zunehmend von ihrem Arbeitgeber. Fehlt die emotionale Bindung, fällt der Jobwechsel immer leichter, insbesondere den Führungskräften.

IDEENLOSIGKEIT

Viele Ideen entstehen beim spontanen Austausch in den Pausen an der Kaffeemaschine. Remote arbeitenden Mitarbeitern fehlen diese Gesprächsmöglichkeiten. Die Folge: Kreative Einfälle werden Mangelware und Innovationen ausgebremst.

FÜHREN AUF DISTANZ

Führung basiert oft auf kurzen Absprachen während der Kaffeepause oder einem spontanen Treffen. Führung in Remote-Work-Modellen braucht eine neue Führungskultur, um erfolgreich gelebt werden zu können.

Remote Work?

Nicht alles optimal.

Über die Hälfte unserer Mitarbeiter arbeiten remote. Unsere größte Herausforderung ist die Führung dieser Mitarbeiter. Denn die kurzen Gespräche miteinander, um schnell Probleme zu besprechen, fallen auf einmal weg.
HR Manager
Durch das Arbeiten von zuhause gewinne ich mehr Zeit und spare Geld, weil das tägliche Pendeln wegfällt. Aber mir fehlen die Gespräche mit den Kollegen, bei denen ich viel mitbekommen habe, was alles im Unternehmen los ist. Die Bindung zu Job und Unternehmen nimmt ab.
Arbeitnehmer

Remote Work richtig machen

Drei Tipps für erfolgreiches Remote Work

Sozialen Austausch fördern

Kaffeepausen sind wichtige Hygienefaktoren in Unternehmen. Sie helfen, Unzufriedenheit vorzubeugen und sind unverzichtbar für die Entstehung neuer kreativer Ideen sowie für Führung und Motivation. Deshalb: Schaffen Sie virtuelle Kaffeeküchen als Raum für spontane virtuelle Treffen und den Austausch im Team.